Kandy Perahera begins




The Kandy annual Esala procession is scheduled to commence today with the first Kumbal Perahera. The first of the five Kumbal processions will begin parading from the Sri Dalada Maligawa at 7.10 p.m. The processions of the four main devales of Kandy Natha, Vishnu, Katagama and Pattini will follow the Dalada Maligawa Perahera.

The Kumbal Perahera will move along Dalada Veediya, D. S. Senanayake Veediya Pansala Para, Deva Veediya, Sir Bennet Soysa Veediya, Yatinuwara Veediya and Raja Veediya to return to the respective shrines, around 10 p.m., according to Diyawadana Nilame Pradeep Nilanga Dela.

The five Kumbal Peraheras will be followed by the five Randoli Peraheras on 26 August, to continue till 30 August. The day Perahera will be held on 31 August, after the Water Cutting ritual at the Mahaweli ferry at Getambe.

After the conclusion of the day Perahera the Nilames will call on President Ranil Wickramasinghe, at the President’s House, Kandy, to inform the latter that the Perahera has been successfully concluded.