Budget passed



Budget 2024 was passed by Parliament yesterday evening with a majority of 41 votes. It received 122 votes in favour and 81 against. Tamil Makkal Thesiya Kuttani MP CV Wigneswaran abstained from voting.

The SJB, JVP-led NPP, TNA and SLPP dissidents now in the opposition voted against the 2024 budget.

The Second Reading of the Budget 2024 was passed in parliament on Nov 21 with a majority of 45 votes, 122 in favour and 77 against.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe in his capacity as the Minister of Finance presented budget proposals to Parliament on 13 Nov.