Immigration extends visa-free entry for seven countries indefinitely

Thursday, 6 June 2024 00:24 –      – 182

facebook sharing button
twitter sharing button
whatsapp sharing button
viber sharing button
sharethis sharing button
The Department of Immigration and Emigration has extended the visa-free entry service for nationals from seven countries until further notice.

The new directive was shared via a circular issued on 30 May, by the Immigration and Emigration Controller General Harsha Ilukpitiya.

“This serves to inform you that the existing short-term free of charge visa issuance for designated countries (India, Indonesia, China, Russia, Thailand, Malaysia and Japan) will be in force until further notice,” it reads.

On 23 October 2023, the Cabinet of Ministers approved visa-free entry to travellers from seven key tourist-generating markets; India, China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia, and Thailand till 31 March 2024. Later, it was extended till 30 April.

The circular noted that potential applicants who apply for a visa in Sri Lanka may avail of the visa-applying facilities by logging onto the department’s website and selecting e-Visa (non-residence).

“They have also been facilitated to obtain a visa at the port of entry (on-arrival) to Sri Lanka,” the circular added.